Marcin (Un an plus tard)

December 6, 2010

if you want to see Marcin one year earlier, click on the picture.

if you want to sneak a peak into Marcin’s life,

Shiny shoes : I bought them to wear when I was working at the reception of a hotel but now I like them so much that I only wear them at special occasions.

Keychain NY souvenir : I bought it in NY two years ago and has kept it since then. I worked in a summer camp for disabled children. I remember spending all my money I made in one weekend in NY (as an excuse: the dollar was very low).

« One hundred years of Solitude », Gabriel Garcia Marquez : my favorite book. It took me four times for finally finishing it. In most versions there is a genealogical tree at the beginning of the book but unfortunately not in mine.

The God Delusion book: a great book – Biologist supporting the whole theory of the evolution, Darwin – I bought it second hand and as I was reading it in Greece on my vacation, I had to get each time my pages back from the pool. It didn’t change my life but It made me just accept my condition of atheist.

The postcard: I was in basic year and I got stuck in a project. On way to school, I found a beautiful destroyed sawing Machine table which really helped me complete my project. I even dragged it in the tram. I found this postcard in the middle of the machine. There was also a question about eternity and a phone number written on it. I tried to call but it seems to be an old number.

Iron box: I am throwing small things I want to keep (notes and stuff) in it.

The Meter: even though I study architecture, I am really bad with measures and I am unable to see immediately if something is 2m or 3m for example.

Small photo: I was in America in an amusement park. This picture always makes me smile when I look at it. I have a weird face on it.

Postcard of the exhibition of Jeff Koens:

I bought it in the Nieuwenkerk (Amsterdam) and a guy I was dating at the time told me he had bought the exact same card 10 years ago. So I thought “That must be it!”

Laminated quote: I was heartbroken for a long time after a break-up. One day, I took a bus to the place of my ex and stood in front of his apartment for 3 hours. It was raining, it was just awful. At one point, he got out of his house, passed me and didn’t even recognize me. I took the bus home with a depressed face and suddenly a Muslim girl (maybe a Muslim angel) came to me and gave me this little note. I thought she assumed that it had fallen from my Pocket so I told her it wasn’t mine but she said « it’s for you… it will help you » and then she left. On the note it is written : « use your best fantasy to pursue your goal ».

Small yellow note: a paper with names of artists written on it that teachers gave to me. I still have this note in my pocket but I haven’t checked the names yet.

Statue : greece souvenir which is not too tacky.

Ladurée Box : I love the colors of macaron and I wanted to keep this box that I will certainly use for a project.

5 Responses to “Marcin (Un an plus tard)”

  1. Lilian said

    He is so nice!

  2. Annie said

    well he’s fit…. and he’s reading the god delusion!! I LOVE HIM

  3. Katie said

    The postcard is a pass along card for the church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, otherwise known as Mormons. I must say I am very proud to be a member of this church. 🙂
    The postcard is a picture of the Salt Lake City Temple in Utah.

  4. This post really moved me. There is something intensely beautiful about this man and this tiny insight into his life. What I would give to know more people like him.

Leave a Reply

