Kofi – Michael (Un an plus tard)

December 20, 2010

if you want to see Kofi one year earlier, click on the picture.
if you want to sneak a peak into Kofi’s life,

Flag: It’s the flag of Ghana, the country where I was born and raised for a part of my still existing life. I lived there until I was 9 years old (now I am 25). Because I want to see the rest of world, I travel to Ghana once in every two years. I have two other brothers and both of them were born here in the Netherlands.

Two different shoes: My two sides. I love sneakers but also old shoes. My father calls me “Anciento”( the old soul, The elder). I love vintage things (vintage clothes, shoes, old music…). I very much have my own style. I don’t like to follow, and so I do my own thing.

CD “Lucky Dube”: I’ve loved his music ever since I was young. Aside from Lucky Dube, my father also introduced me to different Reggae artists such as Peter Tosh, Bob Marley, UB40 and Burning Spear. The first four years of my life, I didn’t see my father. He had already left for Holland to prepare for our new life in Europe. When I was 4 years old, I saw him for the first time. He took my mother with him to the Netherlands but I remained in Ghana with my grandmother until I was 9. During this period, my father came back each year to see how I was doing.  Every time my father would take me somewhere with his car, he would put on reggae music, and to this day, every time I hear a specific Reggae song, I think back of my father and I, driving around and listening to reggae music. In The Netherlands, with my mother, I received more “Soul” influence, such as Aretha Franklin, Anita Baker, Marvin Gaye and Stevie Wonder.

Wooden Map from Ghana: I was 20 years when I went back to Ghana, after coming to Amsterdam. I had missed my home for 11 years. My parents did go to Ghana during those 11 years, but the money wasn’t there to afford all our tickets, so my brother and I had to stay in Amsterdam with relatives. So when I went back, my grandmother gave me this wooden map as a gift as well as remembrance of where I come from.

Notebook: Aside from being a student, I’m also a poet and singer/songwriter. I write my thoughts in this little book, sometimes resulting into a song or a poem. I am part of a collective called “Poetry Circle Nowhere”. http://www.poetrycirclenowhere.nl/ http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O0YdzjXWfvk

It’s a poetry collective with its origins from different artistic disciplines (music, poetry, film, dance, ) sharing one common goal, namely, the love for words.

Red Necklace: I received it from a special friend. She is now studying in Portugal and when she left Amsterdam to go there, she gave it to me. She bought it in Brazil and it’s one of her favourite jewellery, and therefore it means a lot to me. It’s, in a way, having her with me.

Black Glasses: “When the sun shines, the shades come out”.

Gold watch Casio: What can I say? I just love watches! Period!

IPod: I can’t go anywhere without my music. Even when I enter the bus and realise that Ihave forgotten my IPod, I will get off the bus and go home and get it. Can’t live without it. There are so many “human beings”, circumstances around me, where I have no control of (at home, people in the bus…), so for me, It is a way to isolate myself, block myself from the world. I think that’s important in order to gather your own thoughts.

5 Responses to “Kofi – Michael (Un an plus tard)”

  1. Ariane said

    j’arrive pas a le voir ‘one year earlier”….

  2. I adore this blog. Found on Stumbleupon. Definitely subscribing.

  3. […] see Kofi one year earlier, click on the picture. if you want to sneak a peak into Kofi’s life, Read the rest of this entry »” (via […]

  4. Sharon Agutu said

    Keep it up.ur so awesome.love u;)

Leave a Reply

