Thijs (Un an plus tard)

January 17, 2011

if you want to see Thijs one year earlier, click on the picture.
if you want to sneak a peak into Thijs’ life,

David Bowie record “Stage”: I have been listening to David Bowie for such a long time. He is my favourite artist, I guess. This is the only live album on which he plays the experimental stuff from his album called “Low” which came out a year before and which is, I think, his best album. The first half of “Low” is all this amazingly catchy stuff and then the second half is this experimental ambient electronic stuff. On this live album he combines the two as well, I am forcing all my friends to listen to it. And above all, the cover is also great!

Keyboard: I am playing piano since I am 6 years old. By now I am more a guitar player but I can switch back easily to keys. It’s quite intuitive since I started so young. Everyone should be almost forced to learn to play music because it really enriches your life to be able to translate atmospheres, impressions, feelings, into sounds.

Cigarettes: I smoke not as much as I used to. Apparently these little quotes on packs influenced me… Now, I sometimes only smoking 2-3 a days. Way more when I go out, though.

Picks: Because the guitar is my main instrument in the band (http://www.saelors.com and http://www.myspace.com/thevagarymusic). I got better at it than piano because, I think, the guitar is much more of a direct, expressive instrument. You can bend these notes, strum in different ways and make all these subtle little sounds you can never make on a piano.

The film “L’Eclisse” (1962) by Michelangelo Antonioni: I keep telling my friends to watch films from this director but either they never listen to me or they never take the time to do so. Too bad. His work is just exceptional, unrivalled. Another reason why I like this film is that the main actors (Monica Vitti and Alain Delon) are probably the most attractive people on screen I have ever seen. And Antonioni sort of rewrote the whole cinema language with this film, which is part of the ‘alienation trilogy’, all splendid films. There have always been certain ‘technical rules of film making’ but he had a completely revolutionairy approach and I personally think that people don’t realise the impact it had and SHOULD have on cinema these days. I think Antonioni is underrated, or at least his films are not watched enough. He’s a total genius.

“The Great Gatsby” (1925) by F. Scott Fitzgerald: The best book I read last year. I strangely recognized myself in the main character: the way Nick Carraway describes all these events, the way he is involved in all these events (being an outsider but then not really…). Carraway shows this seemingly ironic, observational acceptance of things.

Little Magnets: I have a strange fascination for cheap crap. The more cheap and kitsch it looks, the more I want to buy it.

The Business card of our collective. The reason we’ve ended up here with you. http://furthur-labelz.blogspot.com/

Chains: I feel naked when I don’t have anything “shiny” around my arms or neck.  This necklace I got from my bandmate when she came back from France.

5 Responses to “Thijs (Un an plus tard)”

  1. Marie Mart said

    Jij ook hier? Kei gezellig!

  2. Amy Noelle said

    Oooh, I really like his band!

  3. D Yvette said

    I am in love with David Bowie, and I am in like with Thijs.

  4. Jessica P. said

    I am not even kidding…this man is my soulmate. From loving The Great Gatsby, David Bowie, Lucky Strikes, and the musical talent…it’s almost eery

  5. pamela said

    i think i am a little in love…

Leave a Reply

