Matthew (Un an plus tard)

February 22, 2011


if you want to see Matthew one year earlier, click on the picture.
if you want to sneak a peak into Matthew’s life,

Tambourine & drum sticks : I am a dancer but I also always wanted to be involved in making music so I begged my friend Thijs for a very long time to let me drum for his band but I was no drummer, so he accepted me in his band Saelors (myspace.com/saelors) as a percussionist. After a few gigs, I proved I could keep the beat, and didn’t drop the idea of drumming and after Thijs invited me to jam with some other guys we formed the band I now am also the drummer for: Glass (myspace.com/yesthisisglass)

Ballet Shoes : I am dancing with the Dutch National Ballet and choreographing for our collective: Furthur Labelz. I started doing ballet at 3 years because I really wanted to move whenever there was music. My parents encouraged me because they saw natural talent in me. I did a lot of other activities (basketball, piano, judo…) but everything kind of dropped away except dancing. I went to art school the last year of my High school and before that I was practicing each school day from 4:30 to 9 PM and and during the weekend all day!

As everyone knows, dancing is very hard on your body and that’s why I am using this strange instrument each day. It gives amazing foot massage (You put it on the floor and roll your foot on it.)

“On the Bus” by Ken Kesey and Merry Pranksters: has inspired us (Thijs Sterre and myself) to create our collective. (http://furthur-labelz.blogspot.com/). This is an excerpt from our manifesto:
“Furthur is not a careless spelling error but, of course, a tribute to the Prankster bus in the late sixties; a revolutionary idea in a revolutionary time and a group of Merry Pranksters always moving forward.They were lead by the writer, artist and non-leader Ken Kesey, who would always push ‘furthur’ into the future, into the possibilities of the mind and group dynamics. The pranksters pushed themselves in all directions possible; over the face of the continental USA, through their minds with the experimentation of hallucinogenic drugs and different spiritualities. They explored their creativity through the use and counter use of new technology and collaborating with artists across mediums. Simultaneously they explored their psyches through living in communal situations, never holding back, living intuitively thus creating a form of constant grouptherapy. We do not want to relive these times; we recognize them, honor them and now we want to go further! And the question is once again: are you on or off the bus!”

John Lenon and Yoko Ono, By Annie Leibovitz : Simply because he was a genius. This picture was actually taken a few hours before he died.

Painting colors : Sterre and myself are spending a lot of time on these colors for our new appartment.

Bob Dylan “Blonde on Blonde” : Another genius, another masterpiece, another inspiration.

The hat : Bob Dylan wore a workers cap, as a tribute to Woody Guthrie. John Lennon wore one as a nod to Dylan. And well, I wear it as a nod to all these fine gentlemen and the music and ideals they’ve left us with.

13 Responses to “Matthew (Un an plus tard)”

  1. Love your blog, very creative and beautiful!


    Camila F.

  2. Deidre said

    What a fascinating peak into Matthew’s life!

  3. Hi:) I really enjoy your blog and I posted about it yesterday. Hope you will have a chance to check it out:) Greetings

  4. Kiwi said

    I don’t know how I found your blog,
    but my god I’ve fallen in sartorial love!
    What a fantastic and refreshing take on street style.
    Keep rocking my world always!

    xoxo

  5. Sandy Koch said

    What a wonderful concept you have hear. I found you through FatScribe, where he expressed his admiration for you and your blog. I shall be back!

  6. Sara said

    Very good blog, I love it. Congratulations.

    I will come back.

    S

  7. Kerri said

    I really love you blog! The concept here is amazing. I am always interested in what makes up a person, and what items have meaning for them (that may not have meaning for me or anyone else). How lovely! Thank you for sharing.

    • tuinwoman said

      Thank you so much for the compliment. yes, me too.
      If I could follow a person for a day without being noticed and observe him as long as I can, It would make my day!

Leave a Reply

