Daniel (Un an plus tard)

April 20, 2011

if you want to see Daniel one year earlier, click on the picture.
if you want to sneak a peak into Daniel’s life,Advil : Something you really need after these :

Vodka : Is the standard drink at the moment and I am organising the empty bottles in my kitchen. Our favourite drink is vodka with sparkling water and lemon. The hangover is smaller, the next day. 3 advils instead of 6.

Heineken : The last 6 months, I have been going out quite a lot, I must say. As the pictures  taken in clubs by event photographers always magically end on Facebook, I had to face it: There is always a Heineken bottle stuck into at least one of my hands.  If you see a group picture with a person holding 2 Heineken in a hand (or 4 in two hands), big chance it’s me (because of this my mom is calling me an alcoholic now… which might not be far from the truth…)

Zarb Champagne  (www.zarbchampagne.com: This is also our common drink. I believe that decadency should be ‘in’ again. So we drink champagne on NON events, during the week, when nothing special happened. We only drink Zarb champagne, this because a friend of mine just created this new champagne brand, and nicely enough it’s becoming a hit at the moment.

« California » License Plate (metaphore of the surfworld): I am obsessed with surfing and I am trying to go on a surf trip at least once each year with my father (who is American). I love it and can’t live without it.

My father has been living everywhere and eventually ended up here in Amsterdam, where he got married and together with my mother created the vintage store « Zipper »  “http://www.zipperstore.nl/“. Now that i am in the process of taking over the business from them, i’m still holding our motto high; to only buy things we like. It’s really great to run this place. I actually got this plate from my grandfather as a birthday gift and as I didn’t know how this thing was called, I was running to everyone saying that I received a bumper…I never really understood why people found it awkward when I was saying that…Now, I do.

Wallet: If my head wasn’t attached to my body I would have lost it a long time ago. Same goes for my wallet, as a kid I think I lost my wallet like a dozen times. I would pay somewhere, leave my wallet on a counter and walk away forgetting the damn thing. Eventually my dad give me this wallet the same he had been using for the same reason… make sure stuff is attached to your body and you won’t lose it.

Black Tie on a chain: This is my unique design creation of 2009: I found it interesting to be able to wear a black tie and thus to be chic but as everyone wears T-shirts, it’s kind of a problem. The solution: Just hang it around your neck with a chain. Everyone loves the concept (even on fairs and stuff) but unfortunately nobody buys it. This product never worked! But I still love it anyway!

Zippo: On Queensday when I was 7 years old,  I saw this huge version in a stall next to us and I begged my father to buy it for me. Moreover I am a little pyromaniac. I need to burn everything all the time.

Star Wars: My all time favourite movie. When I was little, when my mother had to cut my hair, she rented the movie so she was sure I was gonna shut up. My other favourite movie “Back to the future”! My sister was in love with Michael J. Fox and I wanted to be him.

3 Responses to “Daniel (Un an plus tard)”

  1. JGregg said

    GREAT post. you have such a unique voice. and being a 4th gen Californian, i appreciate that license plate (er, bumper!). classic.

  2. tuinwoman said

    Thank you again! So nice you are so faithful!

  3. maisa said

    Esse é festeiro! . ‘Our favourite drink is vodka with sparkling water and lemon’ a.k.a caipirinha!

Leave a Reply

