Dieuwertje (deux ans plus tard)

January 17, 2013

Dieuwertje

if you want to see Dieuwertje one year earlier, click on the picture.

if you want to see Dieuwertje two years earlier, click on the “Un an plus tard” picture.

If you want to know more about the friendship between Dieuwertje and Paul,

1. For how many years do you know each other?

Dieuwertje: 3 years, we met in a bar. My part of the story is really cheesy. Time stopped when he walked in. But I heard the false news he had a girlfriend so I laid low. Six months later he ran into each other again and kept on talking.

Paul: We met around three years ago and in the following breath became a couple.

2. Memorable giggle between you two?

Dieuwertje: I always call Paul “kleine dikzak” which means little fatty. Paul only heard it, never knew how you write it or what it actually meant. So one time he sends me: “How are you my kliene dicksuck?”he thought I called him a little cocksucker for at least a year.

Paul: We had both skipped work.

Then like two bored school kids we smoked and laid in a park under an umbrella tree.

I did the James Dean thing and carved our initials into the trunk. No big punchline

but I remember we laughed all day.

3. Memorable fight between you two if there is one?

Dieuwertje: He loves climbing buildings  especially when he’s drunk. So when it was 3 hour clock in the morning and his best friend calls me to say Paul fell from his bike and is in the hospital for some stitches in his hand, I should have had known better. When Paul came home I was sad and took care of him. He kept talking about a bike crash. Until the next morning I saw the instagram pictures of them on the top of an abandoned building.I was quite pissed about that one.

Paul: Nothing special. Maybe some early bouts of jealousy. New love and alcohol can go one of two ways.

4. Best souvenir/moment spend together?

Dieuwertje: I’m afraid to say: our life in general. We both always wanted to live on water. And now we do, together with a doggy and a bunny. Next to that paul must be the most romantic guy i know. period. if it gets any sweeter than this my teeth will fall out.

Paul:  On the roof of a grand Dutch cafe. I was a strange night.

We jumped the boarding with a little help from a lantern and climbed the scaffolding to the top, 6 floors up.

It was just us, the stars, a cigarette or two and the apprehension before our first kiss.

5. What would you never do with her/him?

Dieuwertje: Something where you have to be very fast. Paul takes everything very easy.

Paul: I do it but I don’t like to play competitive games with her. She can be an animal in the ring. She takes winning very seriously.

6. Which is his/her flaw you prefer?

Dieuwertje: His carelessness. He is very careless for all the irrelevant stuff. I wish I was. I worry to much, worry affects your capability to do things. Carelessness probably does too, but you don’t care so it doesn’t matter.

Paul: I find it hard to define a flaw. I don’t consciously look for them. They are part of the package and thus the attraction.

People meet and whether they turn out to become lovers, friends or spiritual guides you meet them when you need them.

Under the surface you both have something the other needs or is missing. In this way I think we help each other to

face our weaknesses. The honesty comes in bearing all and not holding back. Perfection is an ugly pretender. I’m happy we

can enjoy each others flaws and not make a big thing of it. We are who we are.

7. please transcript the last sms or email or facebook message he has send you?

Dieuwertje: He never has credit. which is funny since this was his last text message “I hope what comes from me is not a lesson in death but a lesson in life. All nonsense and stupidity has vanished and I return as a father and a lover.” This was the night he “fell of his bike”  I love his dramatic tone when he is drunk and in pain.

Paul: Ik hou van jou. 11/01/2013 12:21:57 SMS

8. Name of a place you like to hang out together?

Dieuwertje: On the boat in a park or in a forest.

Paul: We’re lucky enough to live on a houseboat on the Amstel together, one of our childhood dreams. I would say that this was our cocoon.

Leave a Reply

